Professor Charlotte Watts is the Chief Scientific Adviser and Director for Research and Evidence in the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO). She is seconded from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM), where she is Professor of Social and Mathematical Epidemiology.

Charlotte is committed to using science and evidence to achieve impact, and in 2019 was included in Apolitical ‘The World’s 100 Most Influential People in Gender Policy.’  She also has one of the Chelsea Flower Show gold medals for the CAMFED garden, following a collaborative project that she initiated with CAMFED, that conveyed the transformative power of education for girls in Africa, and helped raise CAMFED’s profile globally.

Charlotte is a global expert in violence prevention. She was Senior Technical Advisor to the World Health Organization (WHO) 10 country population surveys on women’s health and domestic violence. Charlotte founded the Gender, Violence and Health Centre at LSHTM, and was senior researcher/principle investigator on 5 randomised controlled trials, to assess the impact of different forms of violence prevention, with the findings showing that domestic violence is preventable. Charlotte has Chaired the Technical Working Group to assess the global burden of intimate violence, and was lead editor of the 2014 Lancet Series on Violence Against Women and Health.

In 2019, Charlotte was made a Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of St Michael and St George (CMG) in the Queen’s birthday honours, for her services to domestic violence prevention. In 2020 she was awarded the Sir Edwin Chadwick medal by LSHTM, for her contributions to the prevention of violence against women. Charlotte has over 200 peer review academic publications, commentaries and book chapters. She is a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences and Foreign Associate Member of the US National Academy of Medicine.

Thank you to our generous recent donors

Together we are breaking the cycle of poverty


David and Maralyn Strachan $150

Günter Kowa €200

Terri Chegwidden $35

Paul and Laura Lemaire $250

Lucas Ovsyannikov $500

Lucy Lake £300

Joyce Heard $350

Melvin and Ellen Moore $1000

Catheryn Sproull $10

Leane Bucceri $15

Jeffrey Tang $5000

Richard Foskett £10

Constance Khananzour $10

Zoe Cam Nhi Huynh $19

Matthew Reid-Schwartz $100