Donate

#DayOfTheGirl: Our celebrity social media takeover

NewsPublished on:

This #DayOfTheGirl (Monday, October 11th) themed “Digital generation – Our generation,” three of our sisters in the CAMFED Association are staging a social media takeover, including of humanitarian, writer and actor Ashley Judd’s Instagram.

Each of our sisters will take over one social media channel for 2 hours, highlighting their unstoppable commitment to keeping girls in school and supporting young women to reach their full potential as leaders in their communities and beyond.

  • Mwangala from Zambia will run CAMFED’s Twitter channel between 04:00 and 06:00 PDT / 12:00 and 14:00 BST / 13:00 and 15:00 CAT
  • Elizabeth from Malawi will shine via our Facebook page between 06:00 and 08:00 PDT / 14:00 and 16:00 BST / 15:00 and 17:00 CAT
  • Linda from Zimbabwe will be taking over Ashley Judd’s Instagram profile  starting between 08:00 and 10:00 PDT / 16:00 and 18:00 BST / 17:00 and 19:00 CAT.  

Day of the Girl is worth celebrating because it liberates girls from social exclusion and threats to their education, hence allowing them to live to their full potential.

Linda, CAMFED Association member, Zimbabwe

Join our #DayOfTheGirl Takeover

Website_story_-_landscape_LINDA

Join Linda on Insta

The first young woman educated with CAMFED support to also become an IT Officer, Linda works in our Zimbabwe office. Linda did not come into contact with a computer until she was 19, yet went on to earn a degree in Computer Science from Ashesi University in Ghana, and is now the go-to person for many CAMFED Association members and school students seeking a mentor in this field.

Elizabeth-Teleka-197414-CAMA-Camfed-MCF-launch-event-Zomba-MW-6-

Join Elizabeth on Facebook

Elected National Chairperson of the CAMFED Association in Malawi, Elizabeth leads more than 25,000 young women who are stepping up as mentors, activists and philanthropists, supporting children to learn and thrive. Elizabeth works as a primary school teacher and is passionate about assisting the next generation of girls to overcome their challenges and realize their potential.

Mwangala-Mvkelabai-CAMA-Summit-Zambia-Zambia-Anke-Adams-28-Nov-2018-DSC09459 cropped

Join Mwangala on Twitter

After being supported to go to school by CAMFED, Mwangala joined our network of women leaders and now deploys her expertise as a Program Officer at CAMFED Zambia. A talented entrepreneur, she also co-owns a successful courier and logistics business. Through her work with the CAMFED Association, Mwangala has trained over 7,000 young women in leadership and enterprise skills.

Don't miss our leaders at the 2021 Hilton Prize Ceremony

Our #DayOfTheGirl celebrations will continue as CAMFED leaders accept the 2021 Hilton Humanitarian Prize on behalf of all in our global movement for girls' education and women's leadership. There’s still time to register for the virtual Prize ceremony and conversation taking place on Wednesday, October 13th.

Join the Hilton Prize Ceremony

Thank you to our generous recent donors

Together we are breaking the cycle of poverty

Donate

VISHAL KUMAR $100

Erica Choi $50

Urszula Wozniacka €20

Elisabeth Curtis $100

Richard Fosse €25

Hannah Jardine £157

Getruda Amos $10

Jan Garrill £230

Ellen Yount $150

Takudzwa Chakauya Mukwenha $10

Shaun O'Leary £30

Olivia Smith $20

Janet E Alexander $72

Bella Stoehr $700

Alastair Brown $40