How can education make the world more equitable?

Join us (virtually) on October 7th to find out! Together with the Yidan Prize Foundation and the University of Cambridge, we’re hosting a conference at Jesus College. Register now – it’s free. Register now

Leonard Fabian Msigwa

CAMFED Tanzania Board - Vice Chairperson

Leonard Msigwa is a Municipal Secondary Education Officer at Mpwapwa district Council in Dodoma Region. His education career has spanned several decades, starting as a classroom teacher in 1980. His interest in, and advocacy for, girls’ fundamental right of education is underpinned by his research, including a dissertation on the effects of school age pregnancies, submitted as part of his Master’s degree.

Mr Msigwa’s lifetime commitment to education, and society at large, is underscored by his own educational journey, which took him from when he first graduated as a Teacher Grade C in 1992 from Mbinga Teachers College to joining Sumbawanga Teachers College, where he completed a Certificate in Education in 1995. He joined Morogoro Teachers College for a Diploma in Education in 1999, before graduating from the University of Dar es Salaam with a Bachelor of Education in 2003. Finally, he completed a Post Graduate Diploma and a Master’s Degree in Education at the University of Iringa from 2010-2012.

Mr Msigwa has vast experience in leadership, planning, management and teaching facilitation, and continues to use this expertise to ensure that vulnerable young girls get the opportunity to fulfil their goals and potential.

Mr Msigwa has also served as the Chair of the CAMFED District Committee in Iringa district, where he has played a vital role in ensuring that CAMFED-supported students received their entitlements in a timely manner.

Thank you to our generous recent donors

Together we are breaking the cycle of poverty


Raquel Shank $50

Kirsty Dunphey $200

Frank Stallons $53

Fabre Lambeau £30

Naeemah Coleman $10

Jennifer Haist $5

Stephen Watkins £30

Sophie Hooker £120

Diane and Richard Frank $36

Mel O'Gorman €10

Lawrence kahan $25

Sylvia Cohen $18

Kenneth Laing £50


Liam Grant £10