How can education make the world more equitable?

Join us (virtually) on October 7th to find out! Together with the Yidan Prize Foundation and the University of Cambridge, we’re hosting a conference at Jesus College. Register now – it’s free. Register now

Clarah Zinyama

CAMFED Zimbabwe Board - CAMFED Association Chairperson

Clarah Zinyama champions climate-smart agriculture in her drought-prone community and leads over 68,000 young women in her position as National Chairperson of the CAMFED Association of young women leaders educated with CAMFED support in Zimbabwe. Her unique experience of rural poverty underpins her passion to support marginalized smallholder farmers, particularly young women in the network, to build resilience against climate shocks, minimise post-harvest losses, and launch successful agribusinesses. She teaches rural smallholders to use simple, locally-available solutions to mitigate against climate extremes and supports parent-led school feeding associations to farm sustainably, enabling them to provide nourishment for rural school children in a context characterised by stunting, hunger, and extreme poverty. Clarah and 14 other climate-smart champions (CAMFED Agriculture Guides) from the CAMFED Association have reached thousands of rural smallholders with climate-smart agriculture in rural Zimbabwe, Tanzania, and Zambia. Young rural women trained through CAMFED’s unique Agriculture Guide program go on to train on average 4 to 5 more rural farmers and support at least three rural children to go to school.

In May 2019, Clarah brought her climate-smart expertise to global audiences at the RHS Chelsea Flower Show in London. Her powerful story – of taking action on challenges endemic to her rural context – told through the CAMFED Garden, won the People’s Choice Award and a Gold Medal in the “Space to Grow” category.

Clarah has risen through the leadership of the CAMFED Association, serving as District Chairperson, and then Vice Chairperson from 2017 to 2019, before taking over as the National Chairperson, a post to which she was re-elected at the end of 2020.

Thank you to our generous recent donors

Together we are breaking the cycle of poverty


Raquel Shank $50

Kirsty Dunphey $200

Frank Stallons $53

Fabre Lambeau £30

Naeemah Coleman $10

Jennifer Haist $5

Stephen Watkins £30

Sophie Hooker £120

Diane and Richard Frank $36

Mel O'Gorman €10

Lawrence kahan $25

Sylvia Cohen $18

Kenneth Laing £50


Liam Grant £10