In a surprise announcement on June 16th, Day of the African Child, CAMFED was honored with the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, recognizing our work in supporting girls to learn, thrive and lead, with an eagle eye on sustainability, equity and social justice.

The international non-governmental organization CAMFED has contributed for more than two decades to social transformation aimed at remedying the exclusion and facilitating the access of millions of girls to education, as well as the empowerment of young women in sub-Saharan Africa. Based on a model of continuous support from childhood through to adulthood and on a network of solidarity and intergenerational help, its work has promoted a systemic change built on the pillars of equity and social justice which is committed to the leadership of the women.

MINUTES OF THE JURY, Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation

The Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation recognizes “individual or collective work, in cooperation with another or others, to develop and promote public health, universal education, the protection and defence of the environment, as well as the economic, cultural and social advancement of peoples.” In making its decision, the jury also took into account CAMFED’s work in environmental sustainability, including through its climate-smart Agriculture Guide program.

We are deeply honored to receive this prestigious Award in recognition of our work in support of girls’ education. It comes at such an important moment when the education of so many girls is under threat through this pandemic. Young women in our network across Africa are stepping up in extraordinary ways to safeguard the welfare and education of millions of girls, and we are thrilled that the Princess of Asturias Award brings a spotlight to their leadership in ensuring that no girl is left behind.

Lucy Lake, Chief Executive Officer, CAMFED

The Princess of Asturias Awards have been presented annually since 1981 by H.M. King Felipe of Spain and are considered to be amongst the most important in the global cultural agenda, especially in the Spanish speaking world. Presented in 8 different categories, they are intended to acknowledge exemplary and internationally recognized cultural, scientific and social achievements.

Laureates of the Princess of Asturias Awards include Nelson Mandela, Gloria Steinem, Margaret Atwood, Stephen Hawking, Mary Beard, Martin Scorsese, Pedro Almodóvar, Simone Veil, Doris Lessing, and UNICEF, among others.

Find out more about the Award:

Find out more about the Princess of Asturias Foundation and Award for International Cooperation

Emmanuel Carrère, Gloria Steinem, José Andrés and Katalin Karikó will give speeches at The 2021 Princess Of Asturias Awards Ceremony

Read more about our network of leaders for social justice, the CAMFED Association

Read some of the media coverage:

El Pais – Interview with Angeline Murimirwa – CAMFED Executive Director, Africa

EFE – Interview with Lucy Lake – CAMFED Chief Executive Officer

EFE – Interview with Lydia Wilbard – CAMFED National Director, Tanzania

La Voz de Asturias

The Objective

Thank you to our generous recent donors

Together we are breaking the cycle of poverty


Archana Jalligampala $13

Pranav Dasot €12

Enrique Loy $230

Nicholas Assirati £10

Becca Choi $10

Petra McEntegart £10

Robin Joy Shahar $80

Olivia Loewendahl £7

Lila Szczesnowicz £150

Brass Ring Girls $200


Patrick Murphy $15

Pamela Crawford $40

Rob Thompson $35

Karen Batt $250